Amelia Earhart
1720 West 1460 North • Provo, Utah 84604
Phone (801) 374-4870 • Fax (801) 374-4873

  • News/Announcements
  • Class Websites
  • Calendar
  • Student Section
  • Staff Section
  • Parents

WELCOME TO WESTRIDGE ELEMENTARY

Westridge Mission Statement 

At Westridge we want every student to enjoy school, engage in learning, and achieve high levels of success! 

 
     
     

 Important News

Congratulations to the Westridge Ballroom Team! They took first place at the end of year BYU elementary ballroom competition. We are very proud of their hard work and accomplishments!

     Pictures from the Ballroom Dance Competition

Calendar

     March 30th, 31st, and April 1st - Shakespeare Play at CAS

     April 3rd - District Wide Early Out, 1:30 p.m.

     April 7th - 11th - Spring Break - No School

     April 14th - Westridge Early Out, 1:30 p.m.

     April 15th - Netsmartz Assembly

     April 15th - Community Council Meeting, 12:00 p.m.

     April 15th - Every Day Heroes! Support Paraprofessionals Day 

     April 18th - Kindergarten Registration for 2014 - 2015, 1:45 p.m. to 3:00 p.m.

     April 21st - 25th - Teacher Appreciation Week

     May 2nd - Westridge 5K and Assembly


 

 School Office Hours

Monday - Thursday  -  8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Friday  -  8:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.

  •        

Click on the link above to access and order from Amazon.com.

Amazon will donate part of their earnings to Westridge Elementary!


 

 Safety Information From District:

The district has released the following letter concerning school safety in our district.

School Safety Letter

 

School Safety Letter (Spanish Version)

 


 

   

Parent Link

We have a new system called Parent Link.  This system will call home when a student has been marked absent and it is unexcused. If you receive an attendance message, please take the initiative to call the school and excuse the absence. State law requires us to maintain attendance records and intervene when there is inconsistent attendance. The Parent Link system should also be calling to remind parents to deposit money in lunch accounts, and will have the capacity to send other important messages home as well. Look for more instructions on the Parent Link system in the coming days. You will be able to log onto the system and adjust settings so the calls will come to different numbers or through text messaging as needed.


 Reading Plus  

Westridge Reads Blog

Check out the new Westridge Library Blog, a place where Westridge Wildcats can share and discuss the great books they are reading.  Students also post stories and poems they have written.

 

Notes From The OfficeCold Weather and Sickness
Please make sure your child comes to school PREPARED to be out in the cold.  Also, please do not send a child to school if they have a fever or are vomiting.  Thank you!

 

Westrige Enters The World of Social Media
With social media becoming such a powerful way to share info., Westridge is starting to move ahead.  Follow us on Facebook.  Like us to find out current school information.  

 

Important School Safety Reminders:

    • ALL visitors need to check in at the office and get a visitor's badge before going anywhere in the school.
    • Please do not park in the drop off zone in the mornings. If you need to walk your children in, please park in a designated parking stall. The same is true during afternoon pickup. Park only in designated stalls.
     • When dropping off children, enter on the east side only and exit in two lines only on the west side.
    • Roller blades, skateboards, scooters and bikes are not to be ridden or used on school grounds and in the building. Before entering onto school property, students need to remove roller blades, carry skateboards and walk their scooters and bikes. All bikes brought to the school should be properly stored in one of the bikes racks provided by the school. It is strongly recommended that all students lock their bikes.
           Thank you for your help and cooperation!

 

Utah Write
      Westridge 5th grade students have access to an online writing program called Utah Write. Utah Write has over 20 topics for students to write papers on in the Practice section of the site. It scores your student's paper immediately according to the Six Traits writing program on a scale of 1 to 5 and gives feedback on how your student can improve their paper. Students can revise their papers and resubmit them up to 10 times to improve their scores.
      Utah Write also provides lessons to help your student improve their writing. The program will automatically recommend certain lessons based on your student's writing, but there are also other lessons your student can use under the Learn section of the site.
Westridge has just acquired 3 student computers for each classroom. During center time we will have 20 minute rotations for students to work on Utah Write. Every 2 weeks students will receive a writing assignment to enter into Utah Write.
      Students can also work on Utah Write at home since it can be used anywhere with an internet connection. They can work on their papers, writing and revising, and on the lessons Utah Write provides. Parents can go online with the student and see their papers and scores. We encourage you to have your students practice their writing using Utah Write and monitor their scores and progress. We hope you will be able to utilize this program to the fullest extent possible!

 

kidAn important reminder that all passengers in vehicles must be buckled up . . .it's the law. Please drive cautiously as you enter and exit school grounds.

 

School History
Westridge Elementary, located on Grandview Hill in Provo, is a school where children are treasured. They come to learn, succeed, grow and become the best they can be!


Westridge opened its doors in 1980 as the first year-round school in Utah. Although no longer year-round, the school has continued a tradition of innovation and academic excellence in a nurturing and caring environment.


We have a superb staff who work diligently to make Westridge an ideal environment for learning and growth! We welcome all students, parents, visitors and volunteers!

 

Principal

Cory Anderson

Principal

Email: CoryA@provo.edu
Principal's Message

 

Staff

Shanna Ballard

Facilitator/Literacy

Email: ShannaB@provo.edu
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

 

Staff

Denece Kitto

Facilitator

Email: DeneceK@provo.edu
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

 

Staff

Linda Phillips

Financial Secretary

Email: LindaPh@provo.edu
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

 

Staff

Maureen Holdaway

Secretary

Email: MaureeHo@provo.edu
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

 

Staff

Cathy Ford

Nutrition Manager

Email: CathyF@provo.edu
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

 

Staff

Karen Mogensen

Nutrition Secretary

Email: KarenMog@provo.edu
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

 

Staff

Sarah Christoffersen

Media Center

Email: SarahCh@provo.edu
Class Website

 

Staff

Sue Matthews

Special Education

Email: SueM@provo.edu
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

 

Staff

Sue Pope

Numeracy Coach

Email: SueP@provo.edu
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

 

Staff

Dora Baca

Custodian

Email: DoraB@provo.edu
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

 

Teacher

Kathy Francis

 

Email: KathyFr@provo.edu
Class Website

 

Teacher

Patrice Parker

 

Email: PatriceP@provo.edu
Class Website

 

Teacher

Rachel Leber

 

Email: RachelL@provo.edu
Class Website

 

Teacher

Elaine Jeppesen

 

Email: ElaineM@provo.edu
Class Website

 

Teacher

Laurel Dean Karlsven

 

Email: LaurelK@provo.edu
Class Website

 

Teacher

Jerrie Reader

 

Email: JerrieR@provo.edu
Class Website

 

Teacher

Karen Schwen

 

Email: KarenS@provo.edu
Class Website

 

Teacher

Debbie Spadafora

 

Email: DebbieSp@provo.edu
Class Website

 

Teacher

Kathy Giles

 

Email: KathyG@provo.edu
Class Website

 

Teacher

Tawni Donakey

 

Email: TawnyD@provo.edu
Class Website

 

Teacher

Ashley Gubler

 

Email: AshleyGu@provo.edu
Class Website

 

Teacher

Erin Wright

 

Email: ErinWr@provo.edu
Class Website

 

Teacher

Taylor Gardiner

 

Email: TaylorG@provo.edu
Class Website

 

Teacher

Shanna Bonnett

 

Email: ShannaBo@provo.edu
Class Website

 

Teacher

Amber Maio

 

Email: AmberM@provo.edu
Class Website

 

Teacher

Emily Hepworth

 

Email: EmilyT@provo.edu
Class Website

 

Teacher

Jessica Call

 

Email: JessicaC@provo.edu
Class Website

 

Teacher

Terri Francis

 

Email: TeresaF@provo.edu
Class Website

 

Teacher

Harmony Kartchner

 

Email: HarmonyK@provo.edu
Class Website

 

Teacher

Elizabeth Taylor

 

Email: ElizabethT@provo.edu
Class Website

 

Teacher

Alise Burgess

 

Email: AliseB@provo.edu
Class Website

 

Teacher

Mashell Brown

 

Email: MashellB@provo.edu
Class Website

 

Teacher

Alison Fuller

 

Email: AlisonF@provo.edu
Class Website

 

Teacher

Megan Jenkins

 

Email: MeganJ@provo.edu
Class Website

 

Teacher

Maddie Carr

 

Email: MaddieL@provo.edu
Class Website

 

Teacher

John Jackman

 

Email: JohnJ@provo.edu
Class Website

 

Teacher

Lisa Hatch 

 

Email: LisaHa@provo.edu
Class Website

 

Teacher

Chris Fuhriman 

 

Email: ChristopherF@provo.edu
Class Website

 

Teacher

Rachel Savage

 

Email: RachelSav@provo.edu
Class Website

 

Teacher

Cindy Taylor

 

Email: CindyT@provo.edu
Class Website

 

Teacher

Pam Fossum

 

Email: PamelaF@provo.edu
Class Website

 

Teacher

Marie Haws

Music

Email: MarieMc@provo.edu
Class Website

 

Teacher

Stephanie Stuart

Music

Email: StephanieT@provo.edu
Class Website

 

Teacher

Sarah Payton

Speech

Email: SarahP@provo.edu
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

 

Teacher

Carolina Parodi

ESOL

Email: CarolinaP@provo.edu
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

 

BE A FRIEND WEEK

February 18 - 21st

February 18th - 21st will be Be-A-Friend week at Westridge Elementary. During this week the PTO and school will provide opportunities for students to participate in learning how to be a friend, deal with bullying, and reach out to others. This goes along with the character theme for the month, which is Kindness!


 

Be The Hero

Button Descriptions

Student Resources


Pick Your Grade

Kindergarten | First Grade | Second Grade | Third Grade | Fourth Grade | Fifth/Sixth Grade |


Or Pick Your Subject

Additional Web Resources | Renzulli |

Health and Safety | Math Activities | Literacy | Science | Social Studies/History | STEM |
Just For Fun (with permission only!)


Electronic Testing

UTIPS

TipSmart UTIPS *(new blueprint practice tests - single sitting)

Session 1 | Session 2


Westridge Media Center

Search For Westridge Library Books Online

 

Parent Resources

The link to scheduling SEP Conferences is on the main page under IMPORTANT INFORMATION!